The Sierra Bra

The Sierra Bra is a free pattern from Madalynne and is my second foray into sewing lingerie. The first was the Noelle Bralette which I made into a bikini top. The pattern is wrap around bralette with a halter neck strap.

IMG_20170715_172146

I sourced my stretch lace from eBay, the powermesh and picot elastic from DK Fabrics in Adelaide, the rings from A Rare Notion in the Adelaide Arcade and the straps and hook and eye closure were upcycled from an old bra.

IMG_20170715_171613

The Sierra came together very easily and quickly. It took me about a day to complete with breaks between sewing. I altered the patten to have two shoulder straps instead of the original halter neck design. The most fiddly part for me was cutting out the delicate fabric as I only had fabric scissors at the time. A rotary cutter had been on the sewing wish list for a while and would have made cutting out these delicate stretchy fabrics much easier. I have since acquired a rotary cutter for my birthday which will come in handy for future projects!

IMG_20170715_172237

The Sierra is very comfortable to wear. Support comes from compression of the fabric only and is definitely for smaller cup sizes as advised by Madalynne.

 

 

Leave a Reply

