Noelle bralette bikini top

Happy New Year, dear readers!

16129532_10154518446308863_613035527_o

This was my last sewing project of 2016! A bikini top using Madalynne’s free Noelle halter bra pattern. I’ve had this pattern downloaded for a while but never had the time or fabric to make it. I was browsing through other bloggers’ versions of the Noelle, and was inspired to make it a bikini top. I had some lycra that was intended for another project that I didn’t get around to doing and I was expecting hot swimming weather in the upcoming Summer holidays, it was a sign that the time to make the Noelle was now.

16145206_10154518445888863_875091208_o

I made a size small and found it fit well. I used plain elastic rather than picot as recommended in the pattern and the sliders were upcycled from an old bra. As I was intending to swim in them, when sewing the elastic in I stretched it a bit to make sure the bikini would be snug. I reduced the width of the band by half. The straps are made from the same lycra fabric. I cut 2.5cm wide strips, folded it into thirds and sewed it with a zig-zag stitch. As the lycra I was working with was quite stretchy, I reduced the strap length by about 3cm.

16129548_10154518443608863_232924429_o

Before the attaching the band to the bodice, I inserted some swimwear bra cups bought from Spotlight between the lycra and lining layers. I hand-stitched them to the lining fabric, then continued on with the pattern instructions.

img_20170119_173131

I didn’t have time to make a matching bikini bottom before I went off to Alice Springs for my Christmas and New Years. Perhaps I will try it in 2017 if I have enough lycra left.

I was able to test out my new bikini top at Henley Beach in Adelaide this week. It fit very comfortably! Thank you to Alex for being my photographer.

One thought on “Noelle bralette bikini top

Leave a Reply

