Totoro amigurumi crochet.

IMG_20160723_171152

This project is the first non-sewing one on this blog! A crocheted stuffed Totoro.

Amigurumi are crocheted or knitted stuffed toys. This art form originates from Japan. I have dabbled in crochet and am still learning. This was the second time I tried amigurimi. The first time I made a mini cupcake, so this project was a step up with many components.

Totoro is a character from Hayao Miyazaki’s animated film My Neighbour Totoro. I made this amigurumi version of him as a birthday gift for my friend who loves the film.

IMG_20160723_171011

I found and used a pattern made by Evelyn on Deviantart. And I must admit that I had to look up how to do some of the crochet stitches and watch a few youtube videos to understand the instructions. But her instructions are clear. The yarn I used was grey, but looks sort of brown in these photos.

IMG_20160723_171105

Evelyn’s pattern includes a crocheted white belly. As I didn’t have white yarn, I used white felt and stitched the grey details onto it and hand sewed it onto his tummy. The whiskers are black elastic and the eyes are felt with the black pupils embroidered on.

IMG_20160618_125602
Sewing on the eyes

IMG_20160723_170949

It probably took me about one and a half weeks to make in my spare time and I enjoyed making it. The finished Totoro is fun to squish.

I hope it made a good birthday present!

2 thoughts on “Totoro amigurumi crochet.

Leave a Reply

